March 27, 2023

A regular public meeting of the Bayou Lafourche Fresh Water District was held on Monday, March 27, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. at the Water District office, 1016 St. Mary Street, Thibodaux, LA

Present were: Hugh Caffery, Chairman Greg Nolan, Secretary/Treasurer

Gene Harrell, Vice-Chairman

Ray Mayet

Barry Soudelier

Francis Richard

Lance Authement
Chris Domangue
Dale Dennis
Jake Giardina

Absent were: Scott LeBlanc

Also present were: Capt. Jake Stahl; Robert Mire; Ernie Blanchard; Joe Boudreaux

Henry & Hattie Templet; Chad Porto; Damian Anastasio

Josh Bordelon; Heather Armstrong; Barry Marionneaux, Attorney Ben Malbrough, Executive Director; Dustin Rabalais, Executive Director

Chairman Hugh Caffery began the meeting at 5:00 p.m.

Mr. Caffery stated that public comments can be made at any time in the meeting prior to action on any agenda item upon which a vote is to be taken.

Moved by Commissioner Ray Mayet, seconded by Commissioner Francis Richard to approve the minutes of February 16, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Secretary/Treasurer Greg Nolan, seconded by Commissioner Barry Soudelier to approve the accounts payable report. Motion carried unanimously.

Moved by Commissioner Lance Authement, seconded by Commissioner Chris Domangue to approve the finance report for February 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough reported that we are syphoning on all 4 pumps at the pump station.

Mr. Malbrough reported that the Bayou operations are normal.

Mr. Malbrough reported the updates to the Pump Capacity Improvements Project (PCIP). The river has come up causing the construction on the batture to come to a stop until it recedes.

Mr. Malbrough discussed Amendment No. 1 to the loan and pledge agreement with LDEQ, regarding the project sign requirements and recommended its approval, as presented.

Moved by Commissioner Francis Richard, seconded by Secretary/Treasurer Greg Nolan to approve Amendment No. 1 to the loan and pledge agreement with LDEQ, as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough gave an update on the Phase 3 Permitting.

Mr. Malbrough gave an update on the Melodia Boat Launch Project. He discussed a CEA with the State of Louisiana for a water bottom lease and recommended its approval, as presented.

Moved by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell, seconded by Commissioner Ray Mayet to approve the CEA with the State of Louisiana for a water bottom lease, as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough discussed the annual millage adoption and selection of a committee.

Mr. Malbrough discussed a draft contract for water supply. He asked the Board for authorization for Dustin Rabalais and Barry Marionneaux to negotiate with the Water Plants to develop a standard contract for water supply between the District and the purchasing Plants.

Commissioner Ray Mayet left the room before the vote was taken on the contract for water supply.

Moved by Commissioner Jake Giardina, seconded by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell to approve the authorization of Dustin Rabalais and Barry Marionneaux to negotiate with the Water Plants to develop a standard contract for water supply between the District and the purchasing Plants. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough discussed an agreement with Lafourche Parish Government to receive Hurricane Ida Recovery Funds in the amount of \$1,000,000.00. He asked the Board to ratify the approval of the signing of the agreement due to the deadline.

Moved by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell, seconded by Commissioner Dale Dennis to ratify the approval of the signing of the agreement with Lafourche Parish Government to receive Hurricane Ida Recovery Funds in the amount of \$1,000,000.00. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough discussed and asked for the authorization to modify and add Dustin Rabalais, Executive Director, as a signer on the BLFWD checking, savings and safe deposit box accounts at Hancock Whitney Bank and Capital One Bank.

Moved by Commissioner Chris Domangue, seconded by Dale Dennis to authorize the addition of Dustin Rabalais to the list of signers on the BLFWD checking, savings and safe deposit box accounts at Hancock Whitney Bank and Capital One Bank. The following signers for the checking, savings and safe deposit accounts are Dustin Rabalais, Executive Director; Hugh Caffery, Chairman; Gene Harrell, Vice-Chairman; Gregory Nolan, Secretary/Treasurer; Jake Giardina, Commissioner; Francis Richard, Commissioner and Heather Armstrong, Office Manager. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Malbrough discussed a resolution setting the compensation package for Executive Director, Dustin Rabalais to be retroactive to his hire date of March 9, 2023 and recommended the Boards approval, as presented.

Moved by Vice-Chairman Gene Harrell, seconded by Commissioner Francis Richard to approve the resolution setting the compensation package for Executive Director, Dustin Rabalais to be retroactive to his hire date of March 9, 2023, as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Matt Rivere gave an update on the Friends of Bayou Lafourche.

Chairman Hugh Caffery asked for any public comments. There were none.

Mr. Caffery and the Board presented recognition plaques to former Employee- Jana Langley and former Board Commissioners - Donald Schwab Sr. and Eli Miles. Regrettably, they were not in attendance. Commissioner Ray Mayet read each aloud for the record.

Mr. Caffery and the Board presented Ben Malbrough with a recognition plaque highlighting his achievements as Executive Director during his 10 year tenure. The Board thanked Mr. Malbrough for all that he has done for the District and the citizens it represents and wished him success in all his future endevors.

Mr. Malbrough thanked the Commissioners and staff of the District, both past and present, for their support and confidence in him during his tenure and looks forward to following its continued success with the new Director, Mr. Rabalais.

Chairman Hugh Caffery introduced future Commissioners, Joe Boudreaux and Ernie Blanchard, that will be joining the Board next month. Mr. Boudreaux will be filling the vacancy for the Terrebonne Parish seat and Mr. Blanchard will take over the Assumption Parish seat, currently filled by Commissioner Scott Leblanc.

Mr. Caffery invited everyone to stay for food and refreshments after the meeting.

Moved by Commissioner Jake Giardina, seconded by Commissioner Ray Mayet to adjourn the meeting at 6:15 p.n
Motion carried unanimously.